← Company explorer
AL
HISTORICAL P100 / #100

Aleph Alpha

Artificial Intelligence · Germany

Historical ranking valuation$1.00BSource snapshot: Jun 19, 2026
Financing events6
Named participants14
Captables stories1

Disclosed primary funding in this record

Not established

Sum of non-overlapping disclosed USD amounts in confirmed primary financing entries in this record, including separately labeled equity components; not verified lifetime funding. Excludes amounts already included in a later round, announced, reported, database-only, debt, secondary and unclassified events.

0 confirmed primary rounds with disclosed USD amounts · Record through 2026-09-28
THE BUSINESS

Get to know Aleph Alpha.

Aleph Alpha develops specialized language models and related deployment tools for enterprises and public institutions. Its company materials emphasize domain-specific systems, European infrastructure and data-sovereignty requirements.

Aleph Alpha company overview ↗Source checked Sep 24, 2026

Valuation history

Valuations reported at the time of each round.

No dated financing valuation has passed into this record.

Funding history

Funding rounds, debt and other financing events.

5sourced events · record as of 2026-09-28

The November 2023 mixed package is not $500M issuer equity; Burda later describes more than US$100M in equity plus a research grant, still without an exact amount or close. Burda's September 2026 account confirms its November 2024 secondary with three named co-buyers, not additional issuer capital. Schwarz's January 2026 intended Bosch share acquisition remains an announced plan in that source, not a proved settlement. Burda describes a September 16, 2026 signed combination agreement, subject to regulatory approval: not a completed merger. Cohere Series E is separate and not Aleph Alpha funding. The 2020 EUR 5.3M seed and 2021 EUR 23M Series A have no captured USD conversion. The 2020 non-equity assistance remains database-only. No independent complete-history or eligibility review, exact vehicles, source rights or current balances are established; this is not a current shareholder register. Status source ↗

Nov 2024LATEST SOURCED
secondary

November 2024 secondary purchase

Burda Principal Investments · Earlybird VC · Deutsche Bank · Schwarz Group companies

Source published Sep 18, 2026; not a financing date

Burda explicitly identifies its November 2024 purchase as secondary and names Earlybird, Deutsche Bank and Schwarz alongside it. November 1 is a month sorting key, not an authenticated closing day. Burda's contemporaneous November 20 announcement corroborates the stake increases: https://www.burda.com/en/news/burda-increases-its-stake-aleph-alpha/ . November 20 is publication, not proved settlement. Amount, price, seller, quantities and exact vehicles remain unknown; not additional issuer capital. That contemporaneous page's Bosch, SAP and HPE are other historical backers, not this secondary's established buyers.

AmountNot publicly disclosedValuationNot publicly disclosed
Nov 6, 202304
other

Series B announced package (equity and commercial commitments mixed)

Bosch Ventures (lead) · Innovation Park Artificial Intelligence (Ipai) (lead) · Schwarz Group companies (lead) · Christ&Company Consulting · Hewlett Packard Enterprise · SAP · Burda Principal Investments

Announcement says successful signing, not separately verified funding/close. The more-than-$500M total includes applied-research investment by Ipai and commitments for joint business development; no exact issuer-equity portion is stated. Burda's later participant account describes more than US$100M in equity plus a research grant: https://www.burdaprincipalinvestments.com/2026/09/18/cohere-aleph-alpha-join-forces/ . This lower-bound retrospective is not an exact equity cheque, a second round or a reconciliation of the whole package. Its named prior seed timing differs from the original investor chronology; no current cap table or separately authenticated close is inferred.

AmountMore than $500M announced package; equity amount undisclosedValuationNot publicly disclosed
Jul 27, 202103
primary

Series A

Earlybird VC (lead) · Lakestar (lead) · UVC Partners (lead) · LEA Partners · 468 Capital · Cavalry Ventures

AmountEUR 23MValuationNot publicly disclosed
Nov 202002
primary

Seed

LEA Partners (lead) · 468 Capital · Cavalry Ventures

Source published Jul 27, 2021; not a financing date

LEA's German Series A account identifies itself as seed lead, 468 and Cavalry as seed investors and EUR 5.3M in November 2020. Its January 27, 2021 announcement describes the same seed syndicate without an amount: https://www.leapartners.de/en/detail/lea-partners-invests-in-alephalpha/ . That later announcement is not a second seed round; its publication is not an authenticated November closing day. Burda's September 2026 retrospective mentions 2019 seed timing; original LEA/2021 accounts support November 2020 and that discrepancy remains attributed rather than creating an extra round. Exact subscribing funds, class rights, shares and USD conversion remain unknown.

AmountEUR 5.3MValuationNot publicly disclosed
Date undisclosedUNDATED
secondary

Planned Bosch share acquisition by Schwarz Group

Schwarz Group companies

Source published Jan 28, 2026; not a financing date

Schwarz announces an intended acquisition, subject to regulatory approval, naming Bosch Ventures as the seller. It is not a proved completion, exact transfer date, price, quantity or legal buying vehicle and not a new primary raise. January 28 is publication; the archive/2025 path does not turn this into a 2025 event. The announcement is distinct from the earlier November 2024 secondary and the later Cohere combination.

AmountUndisclosed planned share transfer; completion not establishValuationUndisclosed
Unverified database leads (1)

These database claims have not been independently verified and are excluded from the sourced-event count.

Jan 2020UNVERIFIED
other

Non-Equity Assistance

Investor participation not independently verified

Unverified non-equity assistance; neither issuer capital nor an identified public grant is established.

AmountNot publicly disclosedValuationNot publicly disclosed

Financing participants

Investors, lenders and other parties named in funding announcements.

Burda Principal Investments

November 2024 secondary purchase · Nov 2024 · Participant · secondary · Confirmed · Confirmed source ↗

Series B announced package (equity and commercial commitments mixed) · Nov 6, 2023 · Participant · other · Confirmed · Confirmed source ↗

Earlybird VC

November 2024 secondary purchase · Nov 2024 · Participant · secondary · Confirmed · Confirmed source ↗

Series A · Jul 27, 2021 · Lead participant · primary · Confirmed · Confirmed source ↗

Deutsche Bank

November 2024 secondary purchase · Nov 2024 · Participant · secondary · Confirmed · Confirmed source ↗

Schwarz Group companies

November 2024 secondary purchase · Nov 2024 · Participant · secondary · Confirmed · Confirmed source ↗

Series B announced package (equity and commercial commitments mixed) · Nov 6, 2023 · Lead participant · other · Confirmed · Confirmed source ↗

Planned Bosch share acquisition by Schwarz Group · Date undisclosed · Participant · secondary · Announced · Announced source ↗

Bosch Ventures

Series B announced package (equity and commercial commitments mixed) · Nov 6, 2023 · Lead participant · other · Confirmed · Confirmed source ↗

Innovation Park Artificial Intelligence (Ipai)

Series B announced package (equity and commercial commitments mixed) · Nov 6, 2023 · Lead participant · other · Confirmed · Confirmed source ↗

Christ&Company Consulting

Series B announced package (equity and commercial commitments mixed) · Nov 6, 2023 · Participant · other · Confirmed · Confirmed source ↗

Hewlett Packard Enterprise

Series B announced package (equity and commercial commitments mixed) · Nov 6, 2023 · Participant · other · Confirmed · Confirmed source ↗

SAP

Series B announced package (equity and commercial commitments mixed) · Nov 6, 2023 · Participant · other · Confirmed · Confirmed source ↗

Lakestar

Series A · Jul 27, 2021 · Lead participant · primary · Confirmed · Confirmed source ↗

UVC Partners

Series A · Jul 27, 2021 · Lead participant · primary · Confirmed · Confirmed source ↗

Ownership evidence

Opening ownership research…

Captables coverage

Deals / Captables

Aleph Alpha's latest round: $500M Series B Round

Aleph Alpha's latest public financing record lists USD 500,000,000 in its Series B Round dated November 2023 at a reported valuation of Not publicly disclosed. Captables places the event in the company's disclosed funding history.

Captables Newsroom · 58d ago