← Company explorer
CA
HISTORICAL P100 / #10

Canva

Design Software · Australia

Historical ranking valuation$42.0BSource snapshot: Jun 19, 2026
Financing events21
Named participants34
Captables stories1

Disclosed primary funding in this record

$392M

Sum of non-overlapping disclosed USD amounts in confirmed primary financing entries in this record, including separately labeled equity components; not verified lifetime funding. Excludes amounts already included in a later round, announced, reported, database-only, debt, secondary and unclassified events.

6 confirmed primary rounds with disclosed USD amounts · Record through 2026-09-29
THE BUSINESS

Get to know Canva.

Canva is an online design and publishing platform for creating visual content. It offers design tools and collaborative products used across individual, business and education settings.

Canva company overview ↗Source checked Sep 24, 2026

Valuation history

Valuations reported at the time of each round.

US$34.9B fund mark / US$31B employee valuationReported valuation markdowns (different bases) · ReportedSource ↗
$42B database claim; unverifiedDatabase financing claim (scope unresolved) · Database listedSource ↗
~US$42B secondary markEmployee secondary launch · AnnouncedSource ↗
US$37B proposed secondary markProposed employee secondary (later-launch overlap unresolved) · ReportedSource ↗
US$32B reported secondary markReported later-2024 secondary trades · ReportedSource ↗
$25B reported mark; currency unresolvedQuadrant buyer disclosure (sale overlap unresolved) · ReportedSource ↗
US$26B reported secondary markEmployee and investor secondary sale · ConfirmedSource ↗
US$25.5B reported secondary markBlackbird early-fund secondary sale · ReportedSource ↗
US$40BFunding round (series not stated by issuer) · ConfirmedSource ↗
US$15BApril 2021 announced investment (series not stated by issuer) · ConfirmedSource ↗
US$6BFunding round (series not stated by issuer) · ConfirmedSource ↗
$3.2BOctober 2019 additional funding (series unresolved) · ReportedSource ↗
$2.5BMay 2019 funding (series unresolved) · ReportedSource ↗
US$1BFunding round (series not stated by issuer) · ConfirmedSource ↗
$345MSeptember 2016 additional funding (series unresolved) · ReportedSource ↗
US$165MSeries A · ConfirmedSource ↗

Funding history

Funding rounds, debt and other financing events.

20sourced events · record as of 2026-09-29

Issuer announcements confirm separate May and October 2015 investments. Company-attributed reports support the 2016 and two 2019 raises, but some imported series labels are unverified. Counsel confirms a completed 2024 secondary and a launched 2025 secondary, not company fundraising. The 2024 buyer disclosures may overlap earlier secondaries; later October trades have no disclosed volume and their year-to-date aggregate is not separate proceeds. The June 2025 proposed sale is not a proven additional or completed August transaction. August 2026 reported fund/employee/broker valuation bases differ and are not blended into a current price or fundraising. Stack's 2024 investment and RVI's 2026 Class A purchase have unknown primary/secondary scope. The October 2025 $560M database claim has no verified scope or proven overlap with August. Early unqualified dollar amounts are not converted to USD; the confirmed subset is not lifetime capital. This is not an independently reviewed complete history or current shareholder register; exact vehicles, allocations, source rights and other historical secondaries remain open.

Aug 17, 2026LATEST SOURCED
valuation

Reported valuation markdowns (different bases)

Investors undisclosed

Date is the report date, not a funding or valuation-effective date. The account distinguishes Blackbird and AirTree fund marks at US$34.9B, a US$31B employee-equity valuation attributed to Capital Brief, and an approximately US$30B broker offering indication attributed to AFR. Different bases are not blended, authenticated transactions, issuer proceeds or a universally applicable share price. Underlying fund letters, valuation report, exact class and live broker quote were not inspected. Company did not respond by publication. This is not a formal 409A appraisal, exact current holdings or evidence of settlement. Discussion of employee share issuance is not named employee grants, quantities, vesting or exercised balances.

AmountNo financing amount disclosedValuationUS$34.9B fund mark / US$31B employee valuation
Jun 24, 202619
other

RVI Class A common-stock purchase

Robinhood Ventures Fund I

June 25 release identifies a June 24 closed purchase of approximately US$25M of Class A Common Stock by Robinhood Ventures Fund I. It does not establish issuer proceeds versus secondary seller proceeds, share quantity, price per share, complete class rights, company valuation or current balance. The fund is distinct from its adviser Robinhood Ventures DE, LLC and parent Robinhood Markets, Inc.; RVI shareholders are not direct Canva shareholders. This is a dated investor statement, not an authenticated issuer register or proof of a saleable block.

Amount~US$25M purchase; primary/secondary scope unknownValuationUndisclosed
Aug 20, 202518
secondary

Employee secondary launch

Fidelity Management (lead) · JPMorgan Asset Management

Date is the August 20 announcement in the Reuters company-statement report, inspected via its Zonebourse translation: https://ch.zonebourse.com/actualite-bourse/canva-lance-une-vente-d-actions-pour-ses-employes-sur-la-base-d-une-valorisation-de-42-milliards-de-ce7c51ddd180f42c . Sidley's August 25 account confirms the launched secondary and approximate US$42B mark, not proof of completion. Reuters names Fidelity Management as lead and JPMorgan Asset Management as a new buyer; counsel does not name buyers. Exact purchasing legal vehicles, share quantity and total seller proceeds are undisclosed. Oversubscription is not settlement. Employee shares sold to institutions are not issuer fundraising or a current ownership register.

AmountSale volume undisclosedValuation~US$42B secondary mark
Jun 27, 202517
secondary

Proposed employee secondary (later-launch overlap unresolved)

Investors undisclosed

Date is the report date, not a closing date. The account relays planned sale size and valuation from The Information and separately describes an alumni email and a Canva spokesperson's response concerning a US-parent restructure and optional liquidity. Up to US$500M is a proposed ceiling, not completed proceeds or issuer capital; its relationship to the August 2025 launch remains unresolved. September timing is a reported expectation, not settlement. Plan eligibility and sale limits do not assign a quantity, vested balance or willingness to sell to any named employee. The original email, grant documents and tax treatment were not independently inspected; this is not individualized tax advice, a verified employee ledger or source-redistribution permission.

AmountUp to US$500M proposed saleValuationUS$37B proposed secondary mark
Oct 31, 202416
secondary

Reported later-2024 secondary trades

Investors undisclosed

Date is the October 31 report date, not an authenticated legal closing date. The account describes later secondary trades at a US$32B mark and says buyers and sellers were not disclosed. Its approximately US$1.6B is a year-to-date aggregate of investor and employee share sales, not this transaction or another US$1.6B round. The latest trade's volume and allocations are unknown. Secondary liquidity is not fresh issuer capital, a current market valuation or evidence of any named holder's present balance.

AmountSale volume undisclosedValuationUS$32B reported secondary mark
May 2, 202415
secondary

Quadrant buyer disclosure (sale overlap unresolved)

Quadrant Strategic Equity Fund · Quadrant co-investment funds (exact vehicles unknown)

Date is the May 2 investor-hosted AFR reprint's publication, not closing. It attributes the investment to an investor note, names QSEF and co-investment funds, and identifies Blackbird as seller. The buyer cheque and $25B mark have unqualified currencies in the reprint. Its US$1.5B sale reference is not a separate additional issuer raise; overlap with the March secondary remains unresolved. No second sale total or exact fund allocations are inferred. Named lead dealmakers are not a round lead. Fund legal identities, class rights, individual balances and LP disclosures remain unverified; LP units are not direct Canva shares. Public hosting is not source-redistribution permission.

Amount$500M buyer investment; currency unresolvedValuation$25B reported mark; currency unresolved
Mar 18, 202414
other

Stack Capital investment (proceeds scope unresolved)

Stack Capital Group Inc.

May 2 financial release states a March 18 closing of its US$8M investment. The May 1 announcement is not a second investment: https://www.stackcapitalgroup.com/stack-capital-invests-8-million-usd-into-canva . Neither release establishes security class, share quantity, price, valuation, primary/secondary scope or relation to other 2024 trades; this is not extra issuer proceeds. Stack Capital Group Inc. is distinct from administrator SC Partners Ltd.; Stack shareholders and warrant holders are not direct Canva shareholders. Historical cost and Stack book-value-per-share contribution are not a current Canva equity value, authenticated register or saleable block.

AmountUS$8M investor investment; issuer proceeds unknownValuationUndisclosed
Mar 202413
secondary

Employee and investor secondary sale

Investors undisclosed

April 11 counsel announcement confirms a closed secondary acquired from existing stockholders. An April 8 company-attributed report places sales in March and reports approximately US$1.6B at a US$26B mark: https://www.privateequitymedia.com.au/news/performance/243bn-secondary-sale-of-canva-shares/ . Month-level date is reported timing, not an exact closing day; neither publication date nor the imported April 5 day is asserted as legal closing. Counsel does not confirm the reported amount or valuation. The report identifies current/former staff and Blackbird early funds as sellers, not a named buyer roster. Names concerning its separate August 2023 sale are not assigned here. Seller liquidity is not issuer proceeds; no individual balances or independently authenticated transfer are inferred.

Amount~US$1.6B reported secondary saleValuationUS$26B reported secondary mark
Aug 202312
secondary

Blackbird early-fund secondary sale

Coatue Management · ICONIQ Capital

August 10 report quotes Rick Baker describing a sale from early funds to two new investors; it is not an authenticated legal closing day. The $150M currency is unqualified here. The April 2024 retrospective calls the seller Blackbird's first fund: https://www.privateequitymedia.com.au/news/performance/243bn-secondary-sale-of-canva-shares/ ; exact selling vehicles remain unresolved. Buyer group names establish neither exact funds nor a lead. Baker describes 3% of Blackbird's aggregate Canva holding, not three percentage points of Canva. Historical percentages are not current balances. This is seller liquidity, not new issuer capital. LP distributions are indirect, not direct Canva shares; no recipient quantities or saleable inventory are inferred.

Amount$150M reported; currency unresolvedValuationUS$25.5B reported secondary mark
Sep 15, 202111
primary

Funding round (series not stated by issuer)

T. Rowe Price (lead) · Franklin Templeton · Sequoia Capital Global Equities · Bessemer Venture Partners · Greenoaks Capital · Dragoneer Investments · Blackbird · Felicis · +1 more

AmountUS$200MValuationUS$40B
202110
primary

April 2021 announced investment (series not stated by issuer)

T. Rowe Price · Dragoneer

Source published Apr 6, 2021; not a financing date

Company-issued release distributed April 6, 2021 specifies USD71M investment and USD15B valuation. Accessible FinancialContent mirror; direct Business Wire page was unavailable. The year anchor remains retrospective 2021 timing, not January 1 funding; publication is not an authenticated close. Quoted T. Rowe Price Global Technology Fund manager and Dragoneer representative do not establish a sole lead, exact subscribing vehicles, allocations, class rights or current holdings. One existing observation, not another round; the legal series is not stated.

AmountUS$71MValuationUS$15B
Oct 16, 201908
primary

October 2019 additional funding (series unresolved)

Bond Capital · General Catalyst · Bessemer Venture Partners · Blackbird · Sequoia China

Forbes reports an additional $85M from named existing investors, separate from May's $70M. Exact allocations and the legal series are not established.

Amount$85MValuation$3.2B
May 20, 201907
primary

May 2019 funding (series unresolved)

Bond · General Catalyst · Felicis Ventures · Blackbird Ventures

Canva cofounder's statement and named participants support a $70M investment. The report does not designate a formal lead or legal series label.

Amount$70MValuation$2.5B
201806
primary

Funding round (series not stated by issuer)

Blackbird Ventures (lead) · Sequoia China · Felicis Ventures

AmountUS$40MValuationUS$1B
Sep 14, 201605
primary

September 2016 additional funding (series unresolved)

Blackbird Ventures (lead) · Felicis Ventures (lead)

Canva told TechCrunch this was a new $15M investment after the 2015 Series A, led by Blackbird Ventures and Felicis Ventures. A Series B legal label was not confirmed in that account.

Amount$15MValuation$345M
Oct 6, 201504
primary

Series A

Felicis Ventures (lead) · Matrix Partners · Blackbird Ventures

Issuer confirms the Series A and lead; contemporaneous founder interview dates its announcement October 6 and explicitly identifies the amount and valuation as US dollars, distinct from the May US$6M.

AmountUS$15MValuationUS$165M
May 4, 201503
primary

Additional Canva for Work funding

Matrix Partners · Shasta Ventures · Blackbird Ventures · AirTree Ventures

Canva announces an additional US$6M investment. May 4 is the contemporaneous reporting date, not a verified closing date; the later $15M Series A is a separately announced round.

AmountUS$6MValuationUndisclosed
201302
primary

Seed

Matrix Partners · InterWest Partners · 500 Startups · Bill Tai · Lars Rasmussen · Ken Goldman · Paul Bassat

Source published Mar 20, 2013; not a financing date

March 20 is the issuer announcement date. The August 26 issuer release confirms closing earlier in 2013: https://www.canva.com/newsroom/news/canva-makes-graphic-design-amazingly-simple-everyone/ . The year anchor is not January 1 settlement; August is not a second round. The currency remains unspecified. The March release names Paul Bassat as a backer and partner, not proof that Square Peg Ventures was the subscribing legal entity. It separately describes Commercialisation Australia support; grant amount and inclusion in the seed total remain unknown, so the program is not assigned an equity holding or a separate numeric financing. Exact subscribing vehicles, allocations and current holdings remain unknown.

Amount$3MValuationUndisclosed
Date undisclosedUNDATED
primary

Additional funding (series not stated)

Shasta Ventures · Founders Fund · Matrix Partners · Blackbird Ventures · Square Peg Capital

Source published Jul 21, 2014; not a financing date

July 21 is the issuer release date, not an authenticated financing or closing day; funding timing remains unknown. The release confirms additional funding and these five participants, but currency remains unspecified, no exact subscribing vehicles or allocations are disclosed, and no sole lead is identified. This is not an additional government-grant observation or a second observation of the March 2013 seed.

Amount$3.6M (currency unspecified)ValuationUndisclosed
Unverified database leads (1)

These database claims have not been independently verified and are excluded from the sourced-event count.

Oct 1, 2025UNVERIFIED
other

Database financing claim (scope unresolved)

Investor participation not independently verified

FundBat still lists this October 1 $560M observation at a $42B mark, but primary versus secondary scope, exact currency and legal event date are unresolved. It has no independently sourced close and is not proven to be the August secondary merely because the valuation resembles it. Imported named backers remain unverified database associations and are not projected as confirmed participants. No issuer proceeds, new round identity or current holdings are inferred.

Amount$560M database claim; scope unverifiedValuation$42B database claim; unverified

Financing participants

Investors, lenders and other parties named in funding announcements.

Robinhood Ventures Fund I

RVI Class A common-stock purchase · Jun 24, 2026 · Participant · other · Confirmed · Confirmed source ↗

Fidelity Management

Employee secondary launch · Aug 20, 2025 · Lead participant · secondary · Announced · Announced source ↗

JPMorgan Asset Management

Employee secondary launch · Aug 20, 2025 · Participant · secondary · Announced · Announced source ↗

Quadrant Strategic Equity Fund

Quadrant buyer disclosure (sale overlap unresolved) · May 2, 2024 · Participant · secondary · Reported · Reported source ↗

Quadrant co-investment funds (exact vehicles unknown)

Quadrant buyer disclosure (sale overlap unresolved) · May 2, 2024 · Participant · secondary · Reported · Reported source ↗

Stack Capital Group Inc.

Stack Capital investment (proceeds scope unresolved) · Mar 18, 2024 · Participant · other · Confirmed · Confirmed source ↗

Coatue Management

Blackbird early-fund secondary sale · Aug 2023 · Participant · secondary · Reported · Reported source ↗

ICONIQ Capital

Blackbird early-fund secondary sale · Aug 2023 · Participant · secondary · Reported · Reported source ↗

T. Rowe Price

Funding round (series not stated by issuer) · Sep 15, 2021 · Lead participant · primary · Confirmed · Confirmed source ↗

April 2021 announced investment (series not stated by issuer) · 2021 · Participant · primary · Confirmed · Confirmed source ↗

Franklin Templeton

Funding round (series not stated by issuer) · Sep 15, 2021 · Participant · primary · Confirmed · Confirmed source ↗

Sequoia Capital Global Equities

Funding round (series not stated by issuer) · Sep 15, 2021 · Participant · primary · Confirmed · Confirmed source ↗

Bessemer Venture Partners

Funding round (series not stated by issuer) · Sep 15, 2021 · Participant · primary · Confirmed · Confirmed source ↗

October 2019 additional funding (series unresolved) · Oct 16, 2019 · Participant · primary · Reported · Reported source ↗

Greenoaks Capital

Funding round (series not stated by issuer) · Sep 15, 2021 · Participant · primary · Confirmed · Confirmed source ↗

Dragoneer Investments

Funding round (series not stated by issuer) · Sep 15, 2021 · Participant · primary · Confirmed · Confirmed source ↗

Blackbird

Funding round (series not stated by issuer) · Sep 15, 2021 · Participant · primary · Confirmed · Confirmed source ↗

October 2019 additional funding (series unresolved) · Oct 16, 2019 · Participant · primary · Reported · Reported source ↗

Felicis

Funding round (series not stated by issuer) · Sep 15, 2021 · Participant · primary · Confirmed · Confirmed source ↗

AirTree Ventures

Funding round (series not stated by issuer) · Sep 15, 2021 · Participant · primary · Confirmed · Confirmed source ↗

Additional Canva for Work funding · May 4, 2015 · Participant · primary · Confirmed · Confirmed source ↗

Dragoneer

April 2021 announced investment (series not stated by issuer) · 2021 · Participant · primary · Confirmed · Confirmed source ↗

Bond

Funding round (series not stated by issuer) · Jun 23, 2020 · Participant · primary · Confirmed · Confirmed source ↗

May 2019 funding (series unresolved) · May 20, 2019 · Participant · primary · Reported · Reported source ↗

Blackbird Ventures

Funding round (series not stated by issuer) · Jun 23, 2020 · Participant · primary · Confirmed · Confirmed source ↗

May 2019 funding (series unresolved) · May 20, 2019 · Participant · primary · Reported · Reported source ↗

Funding round (series not stated by issuer) · 2018 · Lead participant · primary · Confirmed · Confirmed source ↗

September 2016 additional funding (series unresolved) · Sep 14, 2016 · Lead participant · primary · Reported · Reported source ↗

Series A · Oct 6, 2015 · Participant · primary · Confirmed · Confirmed source ↗

Additional Canva for Work funding · May 4, 2015 · Participant · primary · Confirmed · Confirmed source ↗

Additional funding (series not stated) · Date undisclosed · Participant · primary · Confirmed · Confirmed source ↗

General Catalyst

Funding round (series not stated by issuer) · Jun 23, 2020 · Participant · primary · Confirmed · Confirmed source ↗

October 2019 additional funding (series unresolved) · Oct 16, 2019 · Participant · primary · Reported · Reported source ↗

May 2019 funding (series unresolved) · May 20, 2019 · Participant · primary · Reported · Reported source ↗

Bond Capital

October 2019 additional funding (series unresolved) · Oct 16, 2019 · Participant · primary · Reported · Reported source ↗

Sequoia China

October 2019 additional funding (series unresolved) · Oct 16, 2019 · Participant · primary · Reported · Reported source ↗

Funding round (series not stated by issuer) · 2018 · Participant · primary · Confirmed · Confirmed source ↗

Felicis Ventures

May 2019 funding (series unresolved) · May 20, 2019 · Participant · primary · Reported · Reported source ↗

Funding round (series not stated by issuer) · 2018 · Participant · primary · Confirmed · Confirmed source ↗

September 2016 additional funding (series unresolved) · Sep 14, 2016 · Lead participant · primary · Reported · Reported source ↗

Series A · Oct 6, 2015 · Lead participant · primary · Confirmed · Confirmed source ↗

Matrix Partners

Series A · Oct 6, 2015 · Participant · primary · Confirmed · Confirmed source ↗

Additional Canva for Work funding · May 4, 2015 · Participant · primary · Confirmed · Confirmed source ↗

Seed · 2013 · Participant · primary · Confirmed · Confirmed source ↗

Additional funding (series not stated) · Date undisclosed · Participant · primary · Confirmed · Confirmed source ↗

Shasta Ventures

Additional Canva for Work funding · May 4, 2015 · Participant · primary · Confirmed · Confirmed source ↗

Additional funding (series not stated) · Date undisclosed · Participant · primary · Confirmed · Confirmed source ↗

Founders Fund

Additional funding (series not stated) · Date undisclosed · Participant · primary · Confirmed · Confirmed source ↗

Square Peg Capital

Additional funding (series not stated) · Date undisclosed · Participant · primary · Confirmed · Confirmed source ↗

Ownership evidence

Opening ownership research…

Captables coverage

Deals / Captables

Canva's latest round: $560M Financing round

Canva's latest public financing record lists $560M in its Financing round dated October 1, 2025 at a reported valuation of $42.0B. Captables places the event in the company's disclosed funding history.

Captables Newsroom · 58d ago