← Company explorer
GR
HISTORICAL P100 / #30

Grammarly

AI Writing Assistant · United States

Historical ranking valuation$13.0BSource snapshot: Jun 19, 2026
Financing events5
Named participants8
Captables stories1

Disclosed primary funding in this record

$200M

Sum of non-overlapping disclosed USD amounts in confirmed primary financing entries in this record, including separately labeled equity components; not verified lifetime funding. Excludes amounts already included in a later round, announced, reported, database-only, debt, secondary and unclassified events.

2 confirmed primary rounds with disclosed USD amounts · Record through 2026-09-25
THE BUSINESS

Get to know Grammarly.

Grammarly is an AI-powered writing and communication product. Its company says the broader business was renamed Superhuman in 2025 after adding Coda and Superhuman Mail; this is a historical Grammarly catalog entry, not a separate current issuer assessment.

Grammarly company and rebrand overview ↗Source checked Sep 24, 2026

Valuation history

Valuations reported at the time of each round.

No dated financing valuation has passed into this record.

Funding history

Funding rounds, debt and other financing events.

5sourced events · record as of 2026-09-25

Grammarly renamed its company Superhuman; the product remains. The May 2025 $1B Customer Value Fund arrangement is not a disclosed equity round; amount drawn is unknown. A March 2024 first sale of securities rights was imported as a $145M equity round. Its December filing and later amendments are cumulative, without verified cash proceeds, series or buyers. A September 2026 $320M Form D marks a business-combination transaction, not a standalone fundraise. This is not a legal financing register.

May 29, 2025LATEST SOURCED
other

Customer Value Fund growth financing

General Catalyst (lead)

Issuer announced a $1B financing arrangement closed May 29. It describes Customer Value Fund go-to-market capital, not an equity share sale or new equity valuation. Exact amount funded/drawn and full legal repayment terms are not disclosed.

Amount$1B non-dilutive financing arrangement; amount drawn undisclValuationUndisclosed
Mar 4, 202404
other

Form D securities-rights offering (first sale)

Investors undisclosed

March 4 is the filing's first-sale date, not a named round close. The Form D checks option/warrant/other-right securities, not a cash equity round, and does not name buyers or establish cash issuer proceeds. Subsequent amendments of the same offering must not be added as fresh rounds.

Amount$145,367,074 sold by December 2024; later amendments cumulatValuationUndisclosed
Nov 17, 202103
primary

Third funding round (series not stated)

Baillie Gifford · Funds and accounts managed by BlackRock

Issuer describes a $200M+ round, not an exact $200M close, and does not use the imported Series C label or identify a lead. November 17 is the public post date.

AmountMore than $200MValuationUndisclosed
Oct 10, 201902
primary

Second funding round (database Series B)

General Catalyst (lead) · IVP

Issuer confirms $90M and General Catalyst as lead, with IVP among participants; it does not use the imported Series B label or identify other investors individually.

Amount$90MValuationUndisclosed
May 8, 201701
primary

First institutional funding (database Series A)

General Catalyst Partners (lead) · IVP · Spark Capital · Breyer Capital · SignalFire

Transaction adviser confirms first institutional $110M minority investment and these five named firms. May 8 is the contemporaneous report date; May 9 is the adviser release date, not a separately verified close day. The Series A label is database-only.

Amount$110MValuationUndisclosed

Financing participants

Investors, lenders and other parties named in funding announcements.

General Catalyst

Customer Value Fund growth financing · May 29, 2025 · Lead participant · other · Confirmed · Confirmed source ↗

Second funding round (database Series B) · Oct 10, 2019 · Lead participant · primary · Confirmed · Confirmed source ↗

Baillie Gifford

Third funding round (series not stated) · Nov 17, 2021 · Participant · primary · Confirmed · Confirmed source ↗

Funds and accounts managed by BlackRock

Third funding round (series not stated) · Nov 17, 2021 · Participant · primary · Confirmed · Confirmed source ↗

IVP

Second funding round (database Series B) · Oct 10, 2019 · Participant · primary · Confirmed · Confirmed source ↗

First institutional funding (database Series A) · May 8, 2017 · Participant · primary · Confirmed · Confirmed source ↗

General Catalyst Partners

First institutional funding (database Series A) · May 8, 2017 · Lead participant · primary · Confirmed · Confirmed source ↗

Spark Capital

First institutional funding (database Series A) · May 8, 2017 · Participant · primary · Confirmed · Confirmed source ↗

Breyer Capital

First institutional funding (database Series A) · May 8, 2017 · Participant · primary · Confirmed · Confirmed source ↗

SignalFire

First institutional funding (database Series A) · May 8, 2017 · Participant · primary · Confirmed · Confirmed source ↗

Ownership evidence

Opening ownership research…

Captables coverage