← Company explorer
UN
HISTORICAL P100 / #78

Unacademy

Edtech · India

Historical ranking valuation$3.40BSource snapshot: Jun 19, 2026
Financing events12
Named participants21
Captables stories1

Disclosed primary funding in this record

$342.5M

Sum of non-overlapping disclosed USD amounts in confirmed primary financing entries in this record, including separately labeled equity components; not verified lifetime funding. Excludes amounts already included in a later round, announced, reported, database-only, debt, secondary and unclassified events.

5 confirmed primary rounds with disclosed USD amounts · Record through 2026-09-28
THE BUSINESS

Get to know Unacademy.

Unacademy operates an Indian learning platform with courses and exam-preparation offerings for students. Its website presents live classes, educators and study resources across competitive-exam and school-learning categories.

Unacademy learning platform overview ↗Source checked Sep 24, 2026

Valuation history

Valuations reported at the time of each round.

$3.44B reportedSeries H · ReportedSource ↗
$2B reportedNovember 2020 investment (series/structure unverified) · ReportedSource ↗

Funding history

Funding rounds, debt and other financing events.

8sourced events · record as of 2026-09-28

Unacademy is historical coverage, not an independently private current-P100 candidate: upGrad's transaction counsel reported a 100% acquisition of legal parent Sorting Hat Technologies Pvt Ltd for $205M on September 10, 2026. That is acquisition consideration, not fresh capital raised by Unacademy or a current equity valuation; legal close day/current register are not authenticated. Source-supported B/C/D, February 2020 and F announcements total $342.5M across five primary entries: a dated subset, not verified lifetime funding and not an exhaustive financing history. February's issuer release describes $110M raised with separate angel exits whose amount is unknown; no extra secondary amount is counted. August 2021's reported $440M total accompanies angel exits with no primary/secondary allocation, and November 2020's amount was undisclosed, not source-supported $60M. January 2021's reported $50M is shareholder secondary; its same-date database observation remains a possible duplicate, not a separately established sale. Dates are publication anchors, not authenticated legal closings; C is known only to July 2018. Four remaining database observations are unresolved and pooled names withheld. Current ownership, exact vehicles/classes, full coverage, source rights and independent review remain unestablished. The reviewed ranking must process an exact issuer-lifecycle acquisition record and choose a replacement through its separate editorial workflow, not silently re-rank this historical profile. Status source ↗

Aug 2, 2021LATEST SOURCED
other

Series H

Temasek (lead) · General Atlantic · Tiger Global · SoftBank Vision Fund 2 · Mirae Asset · Aroa Ventures · Deepinder Goyal · Dragoneer Investment Group · +1 more

The original PTI issuer-statement report identifies a $440M H led by Temasek, the named participants and angel exits. August 2 publication is not an authenticated legal closing day. The primary/secondary split is undisclosed; this is not $440M authenticated issuer proceeds. ET's August 13 CEO account says Dragoneer and Bhavin Turakhia together invested $10M within the existing $440M, not $10M each or another round. Aroa Ventures, not a separate personal Ritesh Agarwal check, is the disclosed family office. Deepinder Goyal and Bhavin Turakhia are named personally, not institutional checks by Zomato or Zeta. Original ET reporting separately names SoftBank Vision Fund II; exact legal subscribing vehicles/classes, allocation and present ownership are unknown. Other imported names are unsupported, not proven absent. The adviser PDF request returned a rejection page rather than a PDF; no primary-document inspection or independent editorial approval is asserted.

SoftBank Vision Fund 2 · ET August 13 original CEO/participant account ↗

Dragoneer Investment Group · ET August 13 original CEO/participant account ↗

Bhavin Turakhia · ET August 13 original CEO/participant account ↗

Amount$440M reported; primary/secondary split unknownValuation$3.44B reported
Jan 13, 202107
secondary

January 2021 reported shareholder secondary transaction

Tiger Global · Dragoneer Investment Group · Steadview Capital · General Atlantic

The report describes four investors purchasing $50M of existing investors' shares. This corrects the imported primary Venture Round classification; it does not establish issuer proceeds, an authenticated legal closing date, exact purchaser fund vehicles or current holdings. January 13 is the report-publication anchor.

Amount$50MValuationUndisclosed
Nov 25, 202006
other

November 2020 investment (series/structure unverified)

Tiger Global Management · Dragoneer Investment Group

The original report attributes the announcement to the issuer CEO, with November 25 first publication; its November 26 update is not a second financing. The amount was undisclosed and the imported $60M is not supported. An August 2021 original account says Dragoneer bought existing investors' stakes in November 2020. That does not authenticate the entire November transaction's allocation, and this is not all-new company capital. The later publication is retrospective structure evidence, not another November investment. Scott Shleifer is not disclosed as a personal subscriber; no lead or Series G is established. The reported $2B valuation is not current equity value; exact vehicles, classes, closing day and present ownership remain unknown.

Dragoneer Investment Group · Moneycontrol August 2021 account of November secondary investment ↗

AmountUndisclosedValuation$2B reported
Sep 2, 202005
primary

Series F

SoftBank (lead)

Blume's investor account states that Unacademy closed a $150M Series F led by SoftBank. September 2 is the investor-post publication anchor, not an authenticated legal closing date. The source does not establish the exact SoftBank fund vehicle, a complete co-investor roster or present holdings; its author being an existing Blume investor does not establish a Blume subscription in this round. The imported partner name is not treated as a personal subscriber.

Amount$150MValuationUndisclosed
Feb 21, 202004
primary

February 2020 financing (series label unverified)

General Atlantic (lead) · Facebook (lead) · Sequoia India (lead) · Nexus Venture Partners · Steadview Capital · Blume Ventures · Kalyan Krishnamurthy · Sujeet Kumar

The issuer release hosted by General Atlantic names $110M raised and three leads in its title. February 21 release publication is not an authenticated legal closing day. It says angel exits were provided in addition to raising the $110M; the secondary amount is undisclosed and not added to issuer proceeds. Shantanu Rastogi and Ajit Mohan are quoted firm representatives, not personal subscribers. Kalyan Krishnamurthy and Sujeet Kumar are named personally, not institutional checks by Flipkart or Udaan. The imported Series E label is not established by this release; unsupported pooled names/renamed aliases are withheld. Valuation, exact subscribing vehicles/classes, individual allocations and current holdings remain unknown.

Amount$110MValuationUndisclosed
Jun 26, 201903
primary

Series D

Steadview Capital · Sequoia India · Nexus Venture Partners · Blume Ventures · Sujeet Kumar · Gaurav Munjal · Roman Saini

The issuer release announces a closed $50M Series D and names these participants without explicit lead roles. June 26 is the announcement anchor, not an authenticated legal closing date. Quoted investment-firm representatives Ravi Mehta and Shailendra Singh are not attributed as personal subscribers. Exact fund vehicles, share classes and current holdings remain unknown.

Amount$50MValuationUndisclosed
Jul 201802
primary

Series C

Sequoia India · SAIF Partners · Nexus Venture Partners

The later issuer release describes a $21M Series C in July 2018 from the three named firms and others. July 1 is only the storage anchor for that month, not an exact legal closing date. The investor list is expressly non-exhaustive; exact vehicles, share classes and present holdings are not established.

Amount$21MValuationUndisclosed
Sep 15, 201701
primary

Series B

Sequoia India (lead) · SAIF Partners (lead) · Nexus Venture Partners · Blume Ventures

The issuer release announces the close of an $11.5M Series B led by Sequoia India and SAIF Partners, with Nexus and Blume participating. September 15 is the release-publication anchor, not an authenticated legal closing date; the imported September 1 and $12M are superseded by this source. Shailendra Singh and Alok Goel are quoted firm representatives, not disclosed personal subscribers. Unnamed angels, exact subscribing fund vehicles, share classes and current holdings remain unknown.

Amount$11.5MValuationUndisclosed
Unverified database leads (4)

These database claims have not been independently verified and are excluded from the sourced-event count.

Jan 13, 2021UNVERIFIED
secondary

Secondary

Investor participation not independently verified

Included in January 2021 reported shareholder secondary transaction (2021-01-13); not added again to the confirmed-raised sum.

This same-date database observation is retained as a possible duplicate of the $50M secondary report, not as evidence of a separately established second sale. Its undisclosed amount and database participant attribution remain unresolved.

AmountUndisclosedValuationUndisclosed
Jan 1, 2017UNVERIFIED
primary

Series A

Investor participation not independently verified

AmountUSD 4,500,000ValuationNot publicly disclosed
May 12, 2016UNVERIFIED
primary

Venture Round

Investor participation not independently verified

Amount$500KValuationUndisclosed

Financing participants

Investors, lenders and other parties named in funding announcements.

General Atlantic

Series H · Aug 2, 2021 · Participant · other · Reported · Reported source ↗

January 2021 reported shareholder secondary transaction · Jan 13, 2021 · Participant · secondary · Reported · Reported source ↗

February 2020 financing (series label unverified) · Feb 21, 2020 · Lead participant · primary · Confirmed · Confirmed source ↗

Tiger Global

Series H · Aug 2, 2021 · Participant · other · Reported · Reported source ↗

January 2021 reported shareholder secondary transaction · Jan 13, 2021 · Participant · secondary · Reported · Reported source ↗

Aroa Ventures

Series H · Aug 2, 2021 · Participant · other · Reported · Reported source ↗

Deepinder Goyal

Series H · Aug 2, 2021 · Participant · other · Reported · Reported source ↗

Steadview Capital

January 2021 reported shareholder secondary transaction · Jan 13, 2021 · Participant · secondary · Reported · Reported source ↗

February 2020 financing (series label unverified) · Feb 21, 2020 · Participant · primary · Confirmed · Confirmed source ↗

Series D · Jun 26, 2019 · Participant · primary · Confirmed · Confirmed source ↗

Tiger Global Management

November 2020 investment (series/structure unverified) · Nov 25, 2020 · Participant · other · Reported · Reported source ↗

Facebook

February 2020 financing (series label unverified) · Feb 21, 2020 · Lead participant · primary · Confirmed · Confirmed source ↗

Sequoia India

February 2020 financing (series label unverified) · Feb 21, 2020 · Lead participant · primary · Confirmed · Confirmed source ↗

Series D · Jun 26, 2019 · Participant · primary · Confirmed · Confirmed source ↗

Series C · Jul 2018 · Participant · primary · Confirmed · Confirmed source ↗

Series B · Sep 15, 2017 · Lead participant · primary · Confirmed · Confirmed source ↗

Nexus Venture Partners

February 2020 financing (series label unverified) · Feb 21, 2020 · Participant · primary · Confirmed · Confirmed source ↗

Series D · Jun 26, 2019 · Participant · primary · Confirmed · Confirmed source ↗

Series C · Jul 2018 · Participant · primary · Confirmed · Confirmed source ↗

Series B · Sep 15, 2017 · Participant · primary · Confirmed · Confirmed source ↗

Blume Ventures

February 2020 financing (series label unverified) · Feb 21, 2020 · Participant · primary · Confirmed · Confirmed source ↗

Series D · Jun 26, 2019 · Participant · primary · Confirmed · Confirmed source ↗

Series B · Sep 15, 2017 · Participant · primary · Confirmed · Confirmed source ↗

Kalyan Krishnamurthy

February 2020 financing (series label unverified) · Feb 21, 2020 · Participant · primary · Confirmed · Confirmed source ↗

Sujeet Kumar

February 2020 financing (series label unverified) · Feb 21, 2020 · Participant · primary · Confirmed · Confirmed source ↗

Series D · Jun 26, 2019 · Participant · primary · Confirmed · Confirmed source ↗

Gaurav Munjal

Series D · Jun 26, 2019 · Participant · primary · Confirmed · Confirmed source ↗

Ownership evidence

Opening ownership research…

Captables coverage

Deals / Captables

Unacademy's latest round: $440M Series H

Unacademy's latest public financing record lists $440M in its Series H dated August 2, 2021. Captables places the event in the company's disclosed funding history.

Captables Newsroom · 58d ago