← Company explorer
YU
HISTORICAL P100 / #37

Yuanfudao

Edtech · China

Historical ranking valuation$10.0BSource snapshot: Jun 19, 2026
Financing events12
Named participants19
Captables stories1

Disclosed primary funding in this record

$3.6B

Sum of non-overlapping disclosed USD amounts in confirmed primary financing entries in this record, including separately labeled equity components; not verified lifetime funding. Excludes amounts already included in a later round, announced, reported, database-only, debt, secondary and unclassified events.

4 confirmed primary rounds with disclosed USD amounts · Record through 2026-09-28
THE BUSINESS

Get to know Yuanfudao.

Yuanfudao describes an education-technology business with learning products for students, including online instruction, practice exercises and AI-assisted study tools. This product overview does not establish current issuer ownership or private-company eligibility.

Yuanfudao company product overview ↗Source checked Sep 24, 2026

Valuation history

Valuations reported at the time of each round.

US$15.5B at announcementSeries G1/G2 aggregate (components included) · ConfirmedSource ↗
US$7.8B at announcementMarch 2020 financing (series unresolved) · ConfirmedSource ↗
Over $1B; currency unspecifiedFinancing (series not stated by source) · ConfirmedSource ↗

Funding history

Funding rounds, debt and other financing events.

12sourced events · record as of 2026-09-28

Issuer confirms a combined October 2020 G1/G2 financing; component amounts, dates and March-round labeling conflict across reports. The package is counted once, not again through its component observations. CMC's March financing and the contemporaneous Reuters distinction support a separate March amount, while contrary retrospective reporting remains attributed. Matrix's contemporary 2017 account explicitly establishes USD for the closed Warburg-led financing without naming its legal affiliate. The issuer's undated homepage confirms the $300M financing reported in December 2018; CMC's later account calls it 2019, so timing remains disputed and no second $300M round is invented. Original journalism now supports the earlier A/B/C, Tencent strategic financing, 2015 D and December 2020 Yunfeng observations as Reported, not issuer-confirmed. No remaining database-only observations in this retained inventory; the 2012 amount and 2015 lead attribution remain unresolved. The disclosed confirmed-primary USD subset is not lifetime capital. This is not an independently reviewed complete history, current shareholder register or proof of current private-P100 eligibility; exact legal vehicles, class rights, retained balances, source rights and newer financing coverage remain open.

Oct 22, 2020LATEST SOURCED
primary

Series G1/G2 aggregate (components included)

Investors undisclosed

Issuer announces closed combined financing totaling US$2.2B across G1 and G2. This is not a third additive round: the component observations are included here. The release names different participants for each component, preserved separately instead of pooling leads. The component allocations and dates conflict in reporting; the issuer does not quantify either component or give its legal closing day. The October 22 publication and reported package valuation do not authenticate settlement records or current value. Series G1/G2 financing labels are not legal share classes; investor groups are not current owners or exact subscribing vehicles.

AmountUS$2.2B combined G1/G2ValuationUS$15.5B at announcement
Oct 22, 202011
primary

Series G1 component (amount/date disputed)

Tencent (lead) · Hillhouse Capital · Boyu Capital · IDG Capital

Included in Series G1/G2 aggregate (components included); not added again to the confirmed-raised sum.

Date is the issuer publication date, not an authenticated component closing. Issuer names Tencent as G1 lead and three participants. Reuters attributes a US$1.2B Tencent-led component: https://www.marketscreener.com/quote/stock/TENCENT-HOLDINGS-LIMITED-3045861/news/Tencent-Chinese-online-tutoring-start-up-Yuanfudao-raises-2-2-bln-values-firm-at-15-5-bln-31587495/ . TechNode instead describes US$1B received in April: https://technode.com/2020/10/22/online-tutor-yuanfudao-lands-1-2-billion-on-doubled-valuation/ . EqualOcean places US$1.2B at August end: https://equalocean.com/news/2020102114982 . Amount and timing remain disputed, not silently resolved to the database's August 31. Included in the US$2.2B aggregate, not an additional amount. Names are groups, not exact subscribing vehicles, share quantities or current holders.

AmountReported US$1B / US$1.2B; split disputedValuationUndisclosed
Oct 22, 202010
primary

Series G2 component (amount/date disputed)

DST Global (lead) · CITICPE · GIC · Temasek · TBP · DCP · Ocean Link · Greenwoods · +1 more

Included in Series G1/G2 aggregate (components included); not added again to the confirmed-raised sum.

Date is the issuer publication date, not an authenticated component closing. Issuer names DST Global as G2 lead and eight participants. EqualOcean describes a US$1B October addition: https://equalocean.com/news/2020102114982 ; TechNode describes a US$1.2B G2: https://technode.com/2020/10/22/online-tutor-yuanfudao-lands-1-2-billion-on-doubled-valuation/ . Reuters confirms two recent financings but does not separately quantify G2 in this account: https://www.marketscreener.com/quote/stock/TENCENT-HOLDINGS-LIMITED-3045861/news/Tencent-Chinese-online-tutoring-start-up-Yuanfudao-raises-2-2-bln-values-firm-at-15-5-bln-31587495/ . This is included in the issuer's US$2.2B aggregate, not an additional amount. No arithmetic residual is presented as independently confirmed. Group names and acronyms are not exact subscribing vehicles, beneficial owners or direct LP shares.

AmountReported US$1B / US$1.2B; split disputedValuationUndisclosed
Mar 31, 202009
primary

March 2020 financing (series unresolved)

Hillhouse Capital · Tencent · Boyu Capital · IDG Capital

CMC attributes completed US$1B financing and a US$7.8B mark to the March 31 announcement, not an authenticated closing day. CMC names Hillhouse as lead and Tencent as a participant; Reuters's contemporaneous issuer-statement report names both as leads: https://www.investing.com/news/technology-news/tencentbacked-online-education-firm-yuanfudao-raises-1-billion-in-new-round-2126046 . Because lead descriptions differ, retain the four participants without choosing a sole or joint lead. CMC is an existing investor, not a verified March subscriber. The issuer's October new-financing release and contemporary Reuters account describe its two recent financings separately from March. Later retrospective reporting conflicts about the G1 timing/amount: https://globalventuring.com/blog/2020/12/29/yuanfudao-marks-off-300m/ . Series labels, legal vehicles, quantities, exact settlement and current balances are not authenticated; no invented Griffin association is imported.

AmountUS$1BValuationUS$7.8B at announcement
May 31, 201708
primary

Financing (series not stated by source)

Warburg Pincus affiliate (exact vehicle unknown) (lead) · Tencent

May 31, 2017 announcement states the financing closed, led by a Warburg affiliate and joined by existing investor Tencent. The 2019 upload path is not another financing. Release does not name the legal affiliate, series or share class, individual cheque, closing day or retained balance. Its unqualified dollar currency is resolved for the round amount by Matrix's same-day account explicitly stating US$120M: https://www.matrixpartners.com.cn/1331.html . The greater-than valuation remains currency-unspecified, not exactly $1B. Page two's IDG, Matrix Partners China, New Horizon and CMC names concern previous financing, not this round. Matrix's historical largest-investor assertion is not current ownership or a share quantity. Historical testimony is not an authenticated issuer register, LP direct holdings or saleable inventory.

AmountUS$120MValuationOver $1B; currency unspecified
Aug 201307
primary

Series B

Matrix Partners China (lead) · IDG Capital

Source published Sep 10, 2013; not a financing date

Original Sina reporting says the company confirmed completed US$7M in late August 2013, with Matrix leading and IDG participating. Use month precision, not August 1 settlement or the imported July day. The issuer media archive labels its reproduction September 5, but its observed original link is dated September 10: https://cdn.yuantiku.com/news . This publication discrepancy is not another round. Reporting remains distinct from an authenticated issuer register, exact investment vehicles, class rights or current holdings.

AmountUS$7MValuationUndisclosed
201206
primary

Series A (amount disputed)

IDG Capital

Source published Sep 10, 2013; not a financing date

Sina's 2013 B report places the earlier IDG A financing at the company's 2012 founding and states US$2.2M; TechNode's 2014 report corroborates it. TMTPost's May 2016 retrospective instead states US$3M: https://www.tmtpost.com/1750169.html . Preserve one disputed observation, not two rounds or the imported exact US$2M. Year precision is not January 1 settlement; the exact closing and original contract are unknown, with numeric capital withheld. Predecessor/product naming does not establish today's legal entity, an IDG legal fund or retained shares.

AmountUS$2.2M / US$3M reported; unresolvedValuationUndisclosed
Date undisclosedUNDATED
primary

Yunfeng financing (reported December 2020)

Yunfeng Capital

Source published Dec 24, 2020; not a financing date

36Kr reports a completed US$300M Yunfeng investment separately from March and October. December 24 is publication, not an authenticated settlement day. Source does not establish the imported Series G - IV label, a lead role or the database's pooled co-investors. Its annual funding total is cumulative, not another round. This remains reported, not issuer-confirmed or independently authenticated current ownership.

Amount$300MValuationUndisclosed
Date undisclosedUNDATED
primary

2018/2019 financing (timing disputed)

Tencent (lead) · Warburg Pincus · Matrix Partners China

Issuer homepage states completed US$300M led by Tencent, with Warburg and Matrix participating; its greater-than US$3B valuation is not exactly US$3B or a current mark. The homepage is undated and does not name Series F or exact closing. December 25, 2018 reporting cites 36Kr: https://www.nbd.com.cn/articles/2018-12-25/1285170.html . CMC's April 2020 retrospective instead dates this investment to 2019: https://www.cmccap.com/news/detail/61 . Preserve disputed timing, not a second round or today's financing. The issuer's shortened roster is not exhaustive; exact vehicles, quantities and retained balances remain unknown.

Amount$300MValuationOver US$3B at announcement
Date undisclosedUNDATED
primary

Strategic financing (reported May 2016)

Tencent

Source published May 31, 2016; not a financing date

Original 36Kr reporting attributes recent financing of US$40M from Tencent to the company. May 31 is publication, not an authenticated settlement date; source does not establish Series D Extension, an exact legal class, Tencent lead status or a valuation. IDG, Matrix, New Horizon and CMC are named for previous financing, not this investment. Historical group/product naming does not authenticate a legal issuer, Tencent's exact vehicle, retained shares or current saleable inventory.

AmountUS$40MValuationUndisclosed
Date undisclosedUNDATED
primary

Series D (reported March 2015)

CMC Capital Partners · New Horizon Capital · IDG Capital · Matrix Partners China

Source published Mar 30, 2015; not a financing date

Tencent Technology's issuer-attributed report describes US$60M completed Series D for Yuantiku, led by CMC with three named participants. The journalist explicitly could not verify the financing amount. The issuer media archive's April 2 reproduction describes CMC and New Horizon as leads: https://cdn.yuantiku.com/news . Its lead attribution remains unresolved, so retain the four named participants without choosing sole or joint leads. Retain Reported status; March 30 is publication, not authenticated closing. This predecessor/product financing belongs to the historical group account, not a verified legal-entity or current shareholder register; no separate Fenbi or product equity balance is inferred.

AmountUS$60MValuationReported US$360M at announcement
Date undisclosedUNDATED
primary

Series C (reported July 2014)

Matrix Partners China · IDG Capital

Source published Jul 22, 2014; not a financing date

TechNode reports recently completed US$15M financing with Matrix and IDG and a US$125M mark. July 22 is publication, not exact settlement; the imported July 1 day is unsupported. The issuer media archive reproduces this report and a Matrix partner's account with a lead role separately reported: https://cdn.yuantiku.com/news . That curated press page is not a new primary issuer release or another round, so retain Reported status. Exact legal vehicles, class rights and retained quantities remain unknown; Griffin is not an evidenced participant.

AmountUS$15MValuationReported US$125M at announcement

Financing participants

Investors, lenders and other parties named in funding announcements.

Tencent

Series G1 component (amount/date disputed) · Oct 22, 2020 · Lead participant · primary · Reported · Reported source ↗

March 2020 financing (series unresolved) · Mar 31, 2020 · Participant · primary · Confirmed · Confirmed source ↗

Financing (series not stated by source) · May 31, 2017 · Participant · primary · Confirmed · Confirmed source ↗

2018/2019 financing (timing disputed) · Date undisclosed · Lead participant · primary · Confirmed · Confirmed source ↗

Strategic financing (reported May 2016) · Date undisclosed · Participant · primary · Reported · Reported source ↗

Hillhouse Capital

Series G1 component (amount/date disputed) · Oct 22, 2020 · Participant · primary · Reported · Reported source ↗

March 2020 financing (series unresolved) · Mar 31, 2020 · Participant · primary · Confirmed · Confirmed source ↗

Boyu Capital

Series G1 component (amount/date disputed) · Oct 22, 2020 · Participant · primary · Reported · Reported source ↗

March 2020 financing (series unresolved) · Mar 31, 2020 · Participant · primary · Confirmed · Confirmed source ↗

IDG Capital

Series G1 component (amount/date disputed) · Oct 22, 2020 · Participant · primary · Reported · Reported source ↗

March 2020 financing (series unresolved) · Mar 31, 2020 · Participant · primary · Confirmed · Confirmed source ↗

Series B · Aug 2013 · Participant · primary · Reported · Reported source ↗

Series A (amount disputed) · 2012 · Participant · primary · Reported · Reported source ↗

Series D (reported March 2015) · Date undisclosed · Participant · primary · Reported · Reported source ↗

Series C (reported July 2014) · Date undisclosed · Participant · primary · Reported · Reported source ↗

DST Global

Series G2 component (amount/date disputed) · Oct 22, 2020 · Lead participant · primary · Reported · Reported source ↗

CITICPE

Series G2 component (amount/date disputed) · Oct 22, 2020 · Participant · primary · Reported · Reported source ↗

GIC

Series G2 component (amount/date disputed) · Oct 22, 2020 · Participant · primary · Reported · Reported source ↗

Temasek

Series G2 component (amount/date disputed) · Oct 22, 2020 · Participant · primary · Reported · Reported source ↗

TBP

Series G2 component (amount/date disputed) · Oct 22, 2020 · Participant · primary · Reported · Reported source ↗

DCP

Series G2 component (amount/date disputed) · Oct 22, 2020 · Participant · primary · Reported · Reported source ↗

Ocean Link

Series G2 component (amount/date disputed) · Oct 22, 2020 · Participant · primary · Reported · Reported source ↗

Greenwoods

Series G2 component (amount/date disputed) · Oct 22, 2020 · Participant · primary · Reported · Reported source ↗

Danhe Capital

Series G2 component (amount/date disputed) · Oct 22, 2020 · Participant · primary · Reported · Reported source ↗

Warburg Pincus affiliate (exact vehicle unknown)

Financing (series not stated by source) · May 31, 2017 · Lead participant · primary · Confirmed · Confirmed source ↗

Matrix Partners China

Series B · Aug 2013 · Lead participant · primary · Reported · Reported source ↗

2018/2019 financing (timing disputed) · Date undisclosed · Participant · primary · Confirmed · Confirmed source ↗

Series D (reported March 2015) · Date undisclosed · Participant · primary · Reported · Reported source ↗

Series C (reported July 2014) · Date undisclosed · Participant · primary · Reported · Reported source ↗

Yunfeng Capital

Yunfeng financing (reported December 2020) · Date undisclosed · Participant · primary · Reported · Reported source ↗

Warburg Pincus

2018/2019 financing (timing disputed) · Date undisclosed · Participant · primary · Confirmed · Confirmed source ↗

CMC Capital Partners

Series D (reported March 2015) · Date undisclosed · Participant · primary · Reported · Reported source ↗

New Horizon Capital

Series D (reported March 2015) · Date undisclosed · Participant · primary · Reported · Reported source ↗

Ownership evidence

Opening ownership research…

Captables coverage

Deals / Captables

Yuanfudao's latest round: $300M Series G - IV

Yuanfudao's latest public financing record lists $300M in its Series G - IV dated December 24, 2020. Captables places the event in the company's disclosed funding history.

Captables Newsroom · 58d ago